Sheena & The Rokkets: The Queen of Mentai-rock and her eternal Valentine

On 2nd February 2015, millions of Japanese men were holding in their hands, chocolate they had received from their sweethearts, as it is custom in Japan on Valentines day. However, Makoto Ayukawa of Sheena & The Rokkets weren’t holding chocolate, but the hand of his beloved wife through 40 years Sheena, who weakened by cervical cancer had been tied to a hospital bed since the beginning of January. Whilst listening to the music they had produced together for the past 35 years, Sheena drew her last breath and fell asleep for ever. She was 61.


41rE5xZbCwLIt was the 70ies in Japan, and in one particular region in the South, a new kind of rock was forming: mentai rock. Brilliantly named ofter the local product mentaithe term represented a growing class of hard-working bands, mainly linked to rock, who took pride in their roots in Fukuoka. In 1978, Sheena & The Rokkets debuted as the opening act for Elvis Costello, and as an outstanding mentai-rock group with a female vocalist and a “rock will never die”-attitude that took the underground at the time by storm, it wasn’t long until they became known in Japan. Only two years after their debut they shared 4 shows with The Ramones in Japan, and the following year they released their album in USA with all English lyrics.

My own encounter with Sheena & The Rokkets was rather random, which only makes it more destined. I was looking up rock music and culture in Fukuoka online, and had already found a couple of venues around city. Having always been a huge fan of psychobilly and rockabilly, I looked up the two genres in Japanese online (knowing that at least the latter one was still popular and active in Tokyo). What came up was ピンナップベイビーブルーズ(Pin-up Baby Blues), a slow-going, 80ies new-wave kind of track that re-kindred my hope for a Japanese music scene beyond AKB48 and Koda Kumi. I immediately liked the track and the band, and after looking up a few more songs, I decided that I had fallen in love. Their song “Sweet Inspiration” ended up becoming my favorite Karaoke choice, and their live-performance of “You May Dream” (see further down) will forever lift my spirit when I’m feeling down – and remind me of what a wonderful person Sheena was.

Though times and the style of popular music change, Sheena & The Rokkets stayed popular and active up until Sheena’s death earlier this year. When I saw them live at Music City Tenjin in 2014, they were as energetic and lively as ever, and I would have never guessed that Sheena at the time had been ill for several months. Apparently she continued to do live concerts up to the end despite having to sit through some of them. At the age of 61 she could still rock a glittering mini-dress.

Sheena & The Rokkets are true musicians in the way that they believe in their music 100 % and enjoy playing it and performing it more than anything in the world – which is what has kept them popular amongst fans for this long. And even more than their music, the energy and vibe of the band as a family, a unity is what kept them going strong for so long. I remember their live concert as warm, energetic and completely down to earth. Their imperfections is what made them unique.

For me, it was truly a sad day when the Queen of mentai (and Japanese) rock passed away, but I have no doubt that she left behind an incredible legacy that will live on for many years to come. Through her music, her fans and through the love she held for her husband.

Sheena・Etsuko Ayakawa
23/11/1953 – 14/02/2015
R.I.P.


Lyrics: Toshiyuki Shibayama
Composition: Makoto Ayukawa, Haruomi Hosono

When I think of you
My chest starts to burn
And the always so depressing rain
Begins to sound like the samba rhythm

In the morning mist on the lake
The crystal boat floats
With the smallest touch of sensation
We exchange kisses

– So if you love me
Come up and see me after dark
Your name is carved in my heart 
For you I’ve reserved a dream –

This is my wonderful dream
Yume (dream) Yume (dream) You may dream

Repeat verse 1

– And you may dream tonight
when you turn out the light,
Of a girl in the arms of a hero
Like Valentino.
Well-hey! That lucky girl’s me! –

This is my wonderful dream
And you may/yume (dream) And you may/yume (dream) You may dream

Leave a comment